Jump to content
Dothack Network


Recommended Posts

  • Administrators

For those who haven't played .hack//fragment since 2005, I'm here to inform you that the game has two modes to choose at the start of the game, Off-line and On-line.

In Online mode you connect to the internet and play with friends with one of 3 characters you made during character creation. You can log out and switch characters as you like. And then you use that character to join up to 2 other online players and grind fields/dungeons for epic sweet loot.

In Offline mode however, you play the game single player obviously, but you do get 2 NPC's you can add to your party. The "story mode" of the Offline game portion of Fragment is basically collecting the Member Address of NPC characters to join your party. These characters much like from .hack//Infection Mutation Outbreak and Quarantine are the same ones, plus the ones you got at the end that were from the anime .hack//SIGN.

This offline story mode is just logging in and getting Bear and BT's member address immediately as they explain to you how to play The World. And immediately goes right into the next character unlocks. The first few NPC's basically explain different portions of how to play the game and after awhile it becomes more of running gags and people testing your might at completing dungeons.

As you move along you will acquire Data Drain, foods for Grunty's, different root towns, Grunty's, and more member addresses to use for your party. Each party member you get will have their own level's and experience points. The ones you acquire at the start will be around level 15 whereas the ones later will be around level 75, and the very last one will have level 99.

The characters you unlock are in this order, some you get together as a couple, much like Bear and BT at the start.

  • Bear
  • BT
  • Mia
  • Subaru
  • Elk
  • Mimiru
  • Tsukasa
  • Marlo
  • Moonstone
  • Nuke
  • Rachel
  • Shugo
  • Rena
  • Gardenia
  • Natsume
  • Terajima
  • Mistral
  • Piros
  • Ginkan
  • Sanjuro
  • Crim
  • Blackrose
  • Wiseman
  • Sora
  • Orca
  • Balmung
  • Kite
  • Helba

Once you get the last character, that's it. The offline story mode is done and all that's left is leveling up and filling up that Book of 1000 in your inventory, which can be a long completionist task. Especially the NPC trades.

Then there's the final boss, the big bad...


Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Administrators

Finally got around to finishing up the final dungeon and final boss.

Fought the boss in a way that I was able to save state before data draining it to see if there was a difference in drops.

Also saw the credits, received the final 3 emails, and final member address.

Plus got to see what the final NPC has to offer as trades.


Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Create New...